Aston Presbyterian Church
Aston Presbyterian has a 149 year history dating back to 1866 when it was founded as the Chester City Presbyterian Church which was the second Presbyterian congregation established in that city. After a general alarm fire destroyed the 90 year old church building in 1956, the congregation spent three years seeking God’s direction as they worshipped and ministered using the facilities of the Central YMCA of Chester.
In 1957 land was purchased in what was then Chester Township and in March of 1959 the new building was completed and the congregation relocated to the current facility. Not long after that the Bridgewater Farms development which surrounds the property petitioned the court for annexation to Aston Township and when that petition was approved, the church property became part of Aston with the dividing line being the bridge on Concord Road over Baldwin’s Run.
In 1975 a Kilgen Pipe organ was gifted to the church from Westminster Presbyterian Church.
In 1978 a building addition was completed which added classrooms and office facilities.
In 1979, 3 women members of the church began a Day Care ministry, which we know today as the Aston Presbyterian Church Day Care Learning Center. This mission of the church continues to provide a much needed learning experience for all children in this and surrounding communities.
The church was renovated in the early 2000’s, the highlight being the installation of the Good Shepherd stained glass window in 2002. The window was a gift of the Robert Sampson family from their home church in Kansas.
In 2005 the Salisbury Labyrinth was built and dedicated. This walking labyrinth is a metaphor for the spiritual journey. Please feel free to take time to walk and talk with God, Christ and the Holy Spirit. Our labyrinth is open all hours.
It is with great joy that we celebrated our 150th Anniversary on February 15, 2016.